UK (12.1.09 – 12.7.09)

On Tuesday, I woke up and went into town with Amelia when she went to work. I walked around for a few hours, then ended up planting myself at Starbucks, where I stayed for several hours, working on some writing. I had wanted to find the coffee shop where we had been the night before, but I was unsuccessful; either way, I got a lot done in my time at Starbucks, so I was pleased with myself. After work, Amelia met me, and we went back to her house before heading out for another pub quiz that Tom runs on a Tuesday night at a pub called the Cricketer. Our team ended up getting first place; our prize was a free round of drinks! Once the quiz was done, we headed back to Tom’s place to hang out for a while; we played Mortal Kombat and listened to David Bowie on vinyl (which always makes for a good night).
On Wednesday morning, I took my time waking up, and in the afternoon Amelia walked me to the station so that I could go back to London for a quiet night in.
Thursday was quiet… I really didn’t do much at all. On Friday, I told myself that I would go into London to go to the Egyptian embassy to ensure that my travel visa is OK. I thought that the visa expired before my exit, but luckily, everything is in order, so I was glad to have that sorted out. That was basically the extent of Friday’s activity… it’s nice to have a quiet day/night in at the moment, because soon enough I’ll be gone again, with my house on my back.
On Saturday, I left for Ascot to go and see my Granny. I arrived in the afternoon, and my uncle and cousin came in around six and seven, respectively. We watched ’Strictly Come Dancing,’ which is the UK version of ’Dancing With the Stars.’ They’ve all been following it, so they were eager to watch as it was the quarter-final. We got an Indian takeaway for dinner, which was too good for words. Chicken Korma and Chicken Tikka Masala… in my tummy, please! We spent the rest of the night catching up; it was fantastic to see Hannah again as I haven’t seen her since I met up with her in Cannes.
Sunday was quiet; Hannah and I both got up late because… we are lazy. We had a late lunch and before long it was time for us all to clear off. I went with Hannah to her house for just a few minutes so that I could pick up some things that I had asked her to take back with her from Cannes. She then dropped me off at the Farnborough station so that I could get the train to London and go see Eddie Izzard!!!
The show was good, but not great. I found that I enjoyed previous material much more, but it was still worth it and I’m really glad that I went; he’s a very funny man.
Monday was laid back. I went to the doctor’s to see if I needed shots or medication for when I go to Egypt. I got a shot, but luckily, I don’t need any medication. I intended to do some Christmas shopping, but I was tired, so I hung out at home for the rest of the day. Lazy day, lazy day!

Picture time!

The outside of Canterbury cathedral

The inside of Canterbury cathedral!

A dead Archbishop Henry Chicele with an angel whispering in his ear

The Archbishop Henry Chichele’s hands clasped in prayer

The Canterbury streets

Oh look… perfect place for a pub quiz! (Did someone say Quiz Night?)

Tom, the quiz master, went around asking if he could draw a moustache on everyone. I was the only one to say yes, but when it came down to it, he kept asking me if I understood that he meant to draw it on with permanent marker. I told him that I understood perfectly but then he couldn’t bring himself to do it (I called his bluff!)… so this is what I got instead.

For the first round of the quiz, the team was to draw a new fashion trend. Our trend was Space Pastry Pirate trend… totally in vogue.

The team!

Tom, THE QUIZMASTER.

To the victor go the spoils: the night’s winnings.

Amelia and I.

Amelia (and all of her friends) have well honed circus skills. Among other things, they can all juggle. They gave me pointers on what to do… so this is something I need to work on.

EDDIE. IZZARD. (In men’s clothing, but definitely wearing makeup)

10 responses to “UK (12.1.09 – 12.7.09)

  1. Juggle juggle juggle! I wasn’t making a funny face, that was my face 🙂 Glad you had a good time
    xx

  2. Elaine Freundlich

    I’m pleased the Egyptian visa is good. When I saw the date it seemed strange to me but they obviously know what they are doing.

    • Yeah, I was got quite worried, but the man at the embassy assured me that I just needed to enter Egypt by the date of expiry, and that I can spend up to 90 days there from that point. I’m glad that I don’t have to wait for another one to process or anything. 🙂
      I’m looking forward to seeing you all on boxing day! xxx

  3. That mustache photo is fantastic!

  4. It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy Eddie Izzard as much as your Indian takeaway/

  5. No you don’t but I read your posts from time to time, very good read. 🙂

    • Wow, thanks very much!!! I’m glad to hear that people I don’t know read this. I’d love for traffic to pick up and for this to become a respected travel blog. Oh gosh, that’d be amazing. I should probably work at updating in a more timely fashion for that to become the case…

Leave a Reply

