Gran Canaria, Spain (12.12.09 – 12.16.09)

When it comes down to it, this is going to be a very boring entry. Despite spending four days in Gran Canaria, I really didn’t do much at all, but that’s what I went for! My flight arrived on Saturday night, and once through customs, I found a bus going to Las Palmas, the main city on the island. From the bus station, I took a taxi to my hostel, as I wasn’t sure how close it was and how long it would take for me to roll my bag to find it. For the first time in months, I was operating using a suitcase, rather than my backpack, which I’ve grown lovingly accustomed to and now prefer tremendously. However, my backpack doesn’t comply with Ryan Air’s carry on restrictions, while the suitcase does! Once at the hostel, I checked in, dumped my bags, got a map, and went to see what Las Palmas at night had to offer. After fifteen minutes, I found myself on the main shopping drag, lined with big name shops and boutiques. I found food, bought a couple of beers at the gas station, and headed back to the hostel for a quiet night in so that I could work on some writing.
All I wanted to do over the next few days was read, write, and lay on the beach. That really was the extent of what I did, and it was luxurious.
On Sunday, I woke up late, went downstairs to use the internet, which frustratingly only seemed to work in the lobby. I ended up exploring the shopping center, the whole time keeping an eye out for Christmas gifts for family members, but was unable to find anything. Once again, I found myself walking the shopping drag, and ending up at the beach. I hadn’t brought my swimsuit with me, so I just scoped the beach for the nicest places to lay. I enjoyed another quiet night in and finished Vladimir Nabokov’s Lolita.
Monday brought another slow morning; I woke up, packed my bag in preparation for the beach, went and got lunch, then situated myself on a towel in the glorious sunlight. I stayed for a few hours and read Ray Bradbury’s Farewell Summer from cover to cover, a book whose tale I found enormously endearing. After the beach I meandered back to the hostel, stopping at the store to get food for dinner. I ate dinner and spent some time on the internet, and around 11PM, I left to go and lie on the beach to watch the Geminids meteor shower, which was a perfect experience. I didn’t see a huge number of meteors, due in part to the fact that it was not the peak time, but some of the ones I did see where among the most dramatic I have ever seen. Meteors that burnt so bright and so long, they left residual tails of light in the sky for seconds after they had died. They seemed to momentarily tear open the sky. After about an hour and a half, I found myself feeling a bit cold, so decided that it was time to call it a night, and back to the hostel I went.
Tuesday was not as warm as Monday had been, so I took a towel to the beach, but just sat and read Kerouac’s Big Sur instead of attempting to tan. I spent the night reading and writing…and there’s nothing more to report really… I sound quite boring!
Wednesday was my last day in Gran Canaria; I awoke to find it gloomy and overcast. Before long, it was raining. I went and got lunch at the mall and sat reading Big Sur on the mall terrace, which had a fantastic view of the port. I had several hours to kill before my flight, but I decided to go to the airport early and just sit and read. As the weather was poor, there was no use in me sitting on the beach to read, besides, my book would have gotten all wet!
My flight ended up being an hour and a half late, which was hugely frustrating as it caused me to miss the train into London. I ended up taking a bus, followed by a taxi because by that point I just wanted to get home and go to sleep. Finally , at 3:30 AM, I was home and sleep, sleep, sleep I did.

Beach!!!

Second home for a few days

The bay at night when I went to watch the Geminids meteor shower

The port, filled with all sorts of colorful freight containers

A crab on a rock in the port on the island in the sea…

The port as the sun was setting

The freight harbor again, just because I love all of the colors…

… and again

The gloomy harbor on my last day!

And then it was back to England, where I was greeted by -2°C (28°F) weather!! I’m going to turn into an icicle in the next few weeks!

2 responses to “Gran Canaria, Spain (12.12.09 – 12.16.09)

  1. I think I have a crush on the crab on the rock. He’s cute!

Leave a Reply

