2009, in summary

At the very end of each year, I like to write out a list of what I accomplished within the span of the past year, and so here is my review of 2009, the end of the Noughties.

– I rang in the New Year in Kauai, Hawaii and spent New Years Day surfing… it was a damn fine way to kick things off
– Spent an incredible six months nurturing ABC Adventures, the love child of Brian and I
– I gave up on the job hunt and spent my last semester of school not working, which was an enjoyable change of pace
– In March, I spent a few days of my Spring Break in New York with Jen, Fran and Sean, which was fantastic as none of us had ever been to NY before (one off the bucket list)
– In May, I turned 21, and succeeded in celebrating this fact in a seriously excessive manner
– Also, in May, I graduated from ASU, completing my B.S. in Electrical Engineering, in addition to graduating from the Barrett Honors College
– In June, I went to California with my family where we went to Sea World and Legoland
– On July 5th, I had a goodbye shindig so that I could wish my friends a fond farewell before leaving for Europe for a year. The night was beautiful from its start to its finish, and included a cameo from Napoleon
-On July 7th, I headed to the airport, where I had to leave two beautiful girls standing with tears running down their faces as I headed off for an adventure, the magnitude of which I still could not fully grasp
– I saw Madness, The Pogues, The Blockheads, and Jerry Dammers and the Spatial AKA Reggae Ensemble perform at Madstock
-I visited the following countries:

  • England
  • Czech Republic
  • Germany
  • The Netherlands
  • Belgium
  • Switzerland
  • Slovakia
  • Austria
  • Hungary
  • Croatia
  • Slovenia
  • France
  • Monaco
  • Italy
  • Vatican City
  • Luxembourg
  • Spain
  • Portugal
  • Morocco
  • Wales
  • Scotland

-This means that in 2009, I stood foot in twenty-two different countries, eighteen of which I had never visited before
– I went paragliding in Interlaken
– I went to Oktoberfest in Munich
– I saw Royal De Luxe perform in Berlin
– I saw Ska-P perform in Barcelona
– I saw the Specials perform TWICE!!!
– I saw Pauline Black perform
– I started working with a very dear friend on several projects that I am enjoying immensely and excited to see develop

… all of this, among countless other incredible things

As I write this, I am traveling by train to Edinburgh to ring in the New Year there and celebrate Hogmanay. At this point last year, I couldn’t have told you where I would be today, but I could have told you with great confidence that I would be happy, which I am.
2009 has been, undoubtedly, the best year of my life so far. I hope that I am able to say the same thing about 2010. I know that the next year will bring many more good things my way. I don’t have a ticket booked home yet, but I estimate that in mid-June, I will return to the States, having seen a great deal more of Europe. I plan on traveling within the States for a few weeks before finally returning home to AZ, which is definitely still home.
This year has been everything I could have hoped for and more. I’ve achieved a great deal, and have seen friendships flourish as well as met a great deal of new and spectacular people. I feel endlessly blessed for all that I’ve been able to experience, and for all of the people who are a part of my days. I feel as though I have grown up a great deal, while simultaneously regressing (I grew back down!) as well. I cannot predict where exactly I will find myself at this point next year, but I can say that I’m sure I’ll be happy with where my life has taken me. I don’t know what the future will bring, but I know that I will embrace it with open arms and spend every day seeking, learning, loving, and being as best as I know how. I’m totally unsure of what I want out of the future, as far as a job, and growing up is concerned. All I know with any certainty is that I want to be happy. There are those who will tell me (and have told me) that I’m being stupid or that I need to sort out a real job… an engineering job, but at the moment, I don’t know what is right for me, or what will keep me happy and challenged. I will figure it out in due time, but no matter what happens, this is my life and no one else’s, which means that I am the maker of my own destiny and I will make my own decisions about what is wrong or right for me.
I know that not all of the questions are answered, but I also know that that’s OK. We aren’t meant to know exactly what tomorrow will bring, or the next week or year. I can say that now, at this very moment in time, I am happy and I feel content with where I am, and where I’m headed.

2009, it’s been a good year and a beautiful end to a spectacular decade. I have high hopes and big plans for the future.

7 responses to “2009, in summary

  1. This is a great review to what seems like a great year. I wish I could’ve enjoyed your company more this year, but I hope to do that in the latter half of the next year. Your posts are always exciting and I am seriously jealous of such adventures. Take care of yourself in the new year, friend ❤

    • It has been a wonderful year indeed. We’ll make 2010 a good one as well by making sure to hang out!
      I’m really glad you keep up with the blog, Scott. 🙂
      You take care of yourself too, sir.

  2. Elaine Freundlich

    A truly wonderful year! So long as you stay self-funded, keep doing what you want and not what others think you should do. You don’t have to answer to anybody. Life is so short and before you know where you are you will have responsibilities; make the most of being young because age catches you up too quickly. Happy 2010.

  3. I ❤ you and I'm so pleased you have had such a fantastic year. And don't worry… the tears will be streaming again when you get back! Love you!

  4. David Freundlich

    Hi Liz. A great year indeed and I hope 2010 proves equally so for you, with even more travels & adventures.

    It was lovely to see you over Christmas and we look forward to seeing you again before you return State-side.

    How did you like the haggis? Neeps & Tatties as well?

    Enjoy, be happy and travel well.

    • Thanks David! I hope for those things in 2010 as well, and I certainly plan on making them happen.
      Thank you again so much for having me. I had such a lovely time with you all and I promise that we will see each other again before I’m on the other side of the Atlantic once more.

      I really did like the haggis! I would certainly eat it again, and yes, it was accompanied by neeps and tatties.

      Take care of yourselves, and I look forward to seeing you again soon. ❤

Leave a Reply

