soda

So. Soda. I’ve been drinking it since I was two. I’d say it’s fair to assert that I am addicted to soda. It used to be Diet Coke, but I recently switched to regular due to claims that Aspartame is TERRIBLE for you.

Princeton recently released this study, the results of which, in short, say that High Fructose Corn Syrup, largely present in sodas, as well as a myriad of other places it really shouldn’t be, is awful for you. And prompts considerable weight gain. NO THANK YOU!

As soon as I read this, I said “I’m done.” In that moment, I gave up soda, and actually meant it… which is something I’ve been telling myself that I need to do for years.

I have spent the past nine days soda free, which I know doesn’t seem like much at all, but I can guarantee that it’s the longest I’ve gone in at least twelve years. So, nine days and counting!!! I’m proud of myself for finally quitting, but it’s really really difficult, and more than anything, I would love a coke. But I won’t give in! No one said that quitting would be easy… if it was, then this wouldn’t be such a monumental change.

Anyhow, travel updates coming soon. ❤

13 responses to “soda

  1. 😦 Man,I don’t think I could quit soda if I wanted to. You got some kinda will power.

    • It actually gets easier every day… it was the initial decision that was the hardest part… to actually say, “Right, I’m giving up soda,” and to MEAN it. Today is day 16!!! I never thought it would be possible!

  2. Quitting for good!! That is hardcore- I made it through the whole of lent without an fizzy and it was so tough but now Easter has gone I am allowing myself a maximum of one can a day 🙂

    • After I read that article, I declared that I was done for good! I’m bummed because I do love rum and cokes, so I don’t know what I’m going to do about that just yet… good thing I also love Gin and Tonics, and they’re HFCS free!!!
      One can a day is a good limit, I think. 🙂 Keep it up!!

  3. what about sodas that dont have high fructose corn syrup?

  4. Mexican coke (and euro coke) don’t have hfcs

  5. You’re going to have to make an exception the next time we hang out…rum and cokes are so necessary while tagging street signs. Miss you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

