Tallinn, Estonia (3.18.10 – 3.20.10)

I arrived at the port in Tallinn, and once I had completed the task of acquiring some Estonian Kroon, I started walking into town, first in search of greasy food which I dearly needed to calm my very unhappy stomach, and secondly in search of my hostel. Eventually, I found a McDonalds, and ambled in, in desperate need of a hamburger. Once I had food in my system, I felt immediately better, and then set out to find my hostel. I hopped on the tram, and discovered that my stop was the next one, and I easily could have walked… but so it goes! I found my hostel quickly, and after checking in, decided that a nap was in order, as I was still nursing my wicked hangover from the night’s decadence. It was about 1PM upon my arrival, and I didn’t wake up until 5:30PM… I had seriously needed the rest. When I woke, it was too dark to go out exploring, and the snow began to fall shortly after I awoke, so I decided that a night in would be wise. I made myself some pasta, and watched a movie with the girl who was working the front desk.
On Friday, I woke up and went to explore the Old Town, which is fairly small and contained by the old city walls, so before long, and without particularly trying to do so, I found myself in the main square. As I wandered, I found the Tallinn Town Hall, the Estonian Wall of Independence Memorial, the Dome Palace, where the Estonian State Assembly is located, the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral, many of the old defense towers that still outline the city, and a handful of churches.
After spending hours in the city, I returned to the hostel and ate the remains of the pasta I had made before. Another of the girls in my room and I made plans to go out, but somehow the time passed… it began snowing, and before we knew it, it was 1AM, so we decided that it would be wiser to give the bars a miss… and I had to be up early in the morning to catch my bus to St. Petersburg… so off to bed I went.
On Saturday, I woke up early and went to check out, to discover that there were no staff anywhere to be found. Eventually, I had to call someone so that I could leave, and off I walked to the bus station… or so I thought. I went to what was marked as the bus station in my Lonely Planet guidebook… and after ten minutes of wandering around in a most befuddled manner, I asked someone if I was indeed at the bus station… and the answer, shock! horror! Was ‘No, the bus station is all the way across town, in the new city.’ I thought perhaps I could walk there, and was laughed at… so, I caught a tram and spent the whole ride panicking about whether I would catch my bus. I made it to the station, with three minutes to spare, and enough time to unload some of my remaining Kroon by buying some snacks for the journey. I boarded the bus, and away we went!

The Old City’s main square

Streets of Tallinn

Architectural decor on a pharmacy building

A pretty house! Tallinn was filled with pastel colored buildings like this one.

One of the old defense towers that still stands at the border of the Old City

A stretch of the remaining fortifying wall, lined with street vendors

More of the remaining fortifying wall to the Old City

The Alexander Nevsky Cathedral- quite a remarkable building.

… and again

St. Petersburg update… coming soon to a Liz Adventure blog near you! If you haven’t been able to tell, I’ve had extreme writer’s block lately, and have been unmotivated/uninspired, and thus unable to write… but hopefully that’s all over now.

I arrived at the port in Tallinn, and once I had completed the task of acquiring some Estonian Kroon, I started walking into town, first in search of greasy food which I dearly needed to calm my very unhappy stomach, and secondly in search of my hostel. Eventually, I found a McDonalds, and ambled in, in desperate need of a hamburger. Once I had food in my system, I felt immediately better, and then set out to find my hostel. I hopped on the tram, and discovered that my stop was the next one, and I easily could have walked… but so it goes! I found my hostel quickly, and after checking in, decided that a nap was in order, as I was still nursing my wicked hangover from the night’s decadence. It was about 1PM upon my arrival, and I didn’t wake up until 5:30PM… I had seriously needed the rest. When I woke, it was too dark to go out exploring, and the snow began to fall shortly after I awoke, so I decided that a night in would be wise. I made myself some pasta, and watched a movie with the girl who was working the front desk.
On Friday, I woke up and went to explore the Old Town, which is fairly small and contained by the old city walls, so before long, and without particularly trying to do so, I found myself in the main square. As I wandered, I found the Tallinn Town Hall, the Estonian Wall of Independence Memorial, the Dome Palace, where the Estonian State Assembly is located, the Alexander Nevsky Cathedral, many of the old defense towers that still outline the city, and a handful of churches.
After spending hours in the city, I returned to the hostel and ate the remains of the pasta I had made before. Another of the girls in my room and I made plans to go out, but somehow the time passed… it began snowing, and before we knew it, it was 1AM, so we decided that it would be wiser to give the bars a miss… and I had to be up early in the morning to catch my bus to St. Petersburg… so off to bed I went.
On Saturday, I woke up early and went to check out, to discover that there were no staff anywhere to be found. Eventually, I had to call someone so that I could leave, and off I walked to the bus station… or so I thought. I went to what was marked as the bus station in my Lonely Planet guidebook… and after ten minutes of wandering around in a most befuddled manner, I asked someone if I was indeed at the bus station… and the answer, shock! horror! Was ‘No, the bus station is all the way across town, in the new city.’ I thought perhaps I could walk there, and was laughed at… so, I caught a tram and spent the whole ride panicking about whether I would catch my bus. I made it to the station, with three minutes to spare, and enough time to unload some of my remaining Kroon by buying some snacks for the journey. I boarded the bus, and away we went!

2 responses to “Tallinn, Estonia (3.18.10 – 3.20.10)

  1. It’s all that fresh Irish air that has inspired you to write again!!

Leave a Reply

