What I’ve learned

Some of this is harder to describe in a bullet point format, but obviously, after a year of traveling solo, I’ve benefited from some serious self discovery. I feel that I’ve come away from all that I’ve experienced with a truer and more sophisticated sense of self, and, thank goodness, an idea of what I want from my life (in the career department). In addition to gaining increased confidence, a feeling of capability, no matter the situation, I’ve also come away feeling more mature. My passion for travel has not been satiated, this year has only fanned the flame to make my yearning even stronger; there are many more adventures in my future.
Now, for what I’ve learned in bullet point:

  • There is humor or a lesson in any situation. You either need to be able to step back and laugh at the situation, or learn something from it.
  • Regardless of where I am, I can take care of myself and navigate my way on public transportation.
  • A little caution goes a long way; I believe that this played a huge role in the fact that I have come away from this year unscathed.
  • I adore public transportation.
  • My French is rubbish and needs work.
  • I have a strong desire to learn multiple foreign languages. (now to translate that desire into action!)
  • I travel damn well by myself.
  • The ability to appreciate and enjoy solitude is an absolute blessing.
  • When it comes down to it, whatever reason you have for being upset/angry isn’t good enough, and sometimes all it takes is a change in perspective to appreciate this. Life is good and in non-ideal situations, we need to take a step back and really think about the situation in the grand scheme of things.
  • People are inherently good. This was proven to me through repeated acts of kindness over the year. My faith in humanity was vindicated time and time again.
  • I love cooking.
  • Skype is magic and makes the distance between you and your loved ones much easier to manage.
  • Kerouac and Vonnegut were gods among men. I have a renewed appreciation for literature.
  • I have no problem falling asleep in a room full of a number of complete strangers.
  • I can sleep just about anywhere.
  • Last, but certainly not least:  the people I know shine like gold. I am truly blessed.
4 responses to “What I’ve learned

  1. Meeting you made me want to travel even more, you know that?

    Does that make me shine as well?

  2. Thank you for this post. These are all lessons of great importance, so kudos for sharing them with us all. Life is good.

Leave a Reply

