Hundred-Year Starship to Mars

Here, and here, are some articles written regarding NASA’s recent announcement of a project they are working on with DARPA to take a spacecraft to go and settle another planet.

The second article talks a bit about electric propulsion, which would be quite different to the means of propulsion that we use now, consuming matter for energy. It’s quite a fascinating concept, and I find it tremendously exciting that we live in an age during which we may see this become a reality.

What do you think of this? Would you ever be able to leave everything behind to begin colonization of new habitats? I’m not sure that I’d be able to leave everything behind… because this isn’t just getting up and moving away, leaving all the people you know and love behind; this is leaving Earth… everything you have ever known in your human experience. It would be one of the grandest adventures in human history to date. Maybe once I was old, and I had seen and done everything I wanted to, I would go. However, along those lines of thought, my guess is that is the response that most willing participants would give, and I’m sure there would be some sort of age limit imposed, because they wouldn’t want all of their explorers dying within a relatively short amount of time after arriving.

Anyway, what are your thoughts on this?

3 responses to “Hundred-Year Starship to Mars

  1. As of right now, I would not even think about doing this because I have Heather. But… if I was offered this in the time after my divorce, I totally would have done it. How insanely exciting and outrageous!!!

    • What if there was the option for you and Heather to go together? Do you think you’d both be able to walk away from your lives as long as you had each other?

  2. I don’t know if I could do it for a long period of time. If it were a temporary development-type work, I would definitely consider it. If I could get a one- or two-year job building wells or something like that, it’d be a wonderful experience. Making the permanent move to an entirely different planet? I don’t think I could deal with that level of separation anxiety.

    After spending a year on other continents, do you think you could spend a year on another planet?

Leave a Reply

