Bye bye tonsils! (11.11.10)

On November 11th, I had my tonsils taken out! The 11th was Veteran’s Day, so I had no school, and I don’t have classes on Friday, so it was an opportune time to take advantage of a four day weekend.

Before surgery, the doctor warned that I should expect to be completely useless for 5 days, and mostly useless for 10 days, with healing taking around 3 weeks. On Thursday, my Mum came and picked me up at 5:40 AM, and we headed to the surgery center. I was due to arrive at 6:30. We got there a bit early, so we then went to get my Mum a coffee, to avoid prolonging the time in the waiting room, which only serves to heighten the anxiety that one feels when waiting for this sort of procedure. Not too long after 6:30, I was taken through, and they had me put in a hospital gown. They hooked me up to an IV, which was painful, and proved troublesome for the nurse. I think I must have tiny veins, because it is always difficult for anyone who needs to use a needle on me for whatever reason. She had to insert the IV three times before she got it, and even commented “I don’t know why this is so tough, I do this every day.” Even once it was in, it hurt until I was under anesthetic. They gave me the anesthetic via the IV, so suddenly I felt a strange feeling rush to my head. I asked “What did you put in there?” and that was the last thing I remember before waking up. Upon waking, I was unsure as to whether they had taken my tonsils yet or not. Going under anesthetic is one of the strangest things in the world, because unlike sleep, you are oblivious to any passage of time; at least, that’s how I feel about it. I then realized that I was in tremendous pain, so I decided that they must have taken them out. The nurses realized that I was awake and crying, so they gave me painkillers, which ultimately did nothing to kill the pain. After a while, my mum was allowed to come through, and after being monitored for a total of two hours, I was allowed to go home. We arrived home around 11AM; my Mum gave me a dose of painkillers and I immediately fell asleep. The painkillers were to be taken every four hours, and at 3PM on the dot, I woke up, and started weeping involuntarily; the pain was excruciating. Luckily, even by the end of the day, I had shown dramatic improvement. Rachel, one of my best friends came to visit me on Thursday, which was wonderful. I stayed at my mum’s until Monday morning. My dad drove me to school, and then my mum came to pick me up after class and dropped me off at my house. I decided that I wanted to go back to work on Tuesday night, so I did. I definitely pushed myself to the limit in doing so; I think I spoke a lot more than I had over the days prior, and consequently felt very sore on Wednesday morning. Every morning proved difficult, but each day showed improvement over the last. As it turns out, eating ice cream for days is not as fantastic as people would have you believe… I craved real food from day one.
Luckily, my recovery really was very quick, and I did well. However, a speedy recovery does not mean that I wasn’t in excruciating pain at times. That said, I’m already glad to be rid of them… I’ve noticed improvements already!

And that is the story of having my tonsils taken out… good riddance!

Leave a Reply

