OWS

OK, so I’ll be honest. I don’t really know as much as I should about the whole Occupy Wall Street movement. I’ve been out of the country since its start, so I don’t feel much connection with it.

Whatever my opinion may be on whether the protestors are right or wrong is moot. What I do know is that I believe in the right to express one’s opinion, and to right to speak out and speak up against wrongdoing, corruption and abuse. I believe that all of the protestors have the right to express their opinion, without being battered and abused for doing so. I’ve seen some horrific images of people who have been beaten for speaking up, and they disgust me.

Then today I saw this video, and I wept:

Shame on you is right. I am ashamed that that is my country. Land of the free and home of the brave, right?

Above all, above the disgust I feel after watching this, I feel sad. In traveling, I get to encounter people from so many different backgrounds, and I am so often astonished by the kindness I experience from total strangers, people who just want to help. I know that people can be so, so good. And then there’s this, and it’s an unfortunate reminder that some people are scum, and sometimes those scum get into positions of power. And then we have a huge god damn mess on our hands.

Leave a Reply

