Ko Phi Phi, Thailand (11.24.11 – 11.25.11)

On Thursday I got the ferry to Ko Phi Phi from Phuket and set about finding somewhere to stay for as cheap as possible. Ko Phi Phi just isn’t cheap as far as accommodation goes. I found a hostel that was the best available; it had two rooms, one upstairs and one downstairs, each with sixteen beds. It was actually kind of fun. I took a nap, then headed to the beach for a while, then showered and hung out with some other hostel folk. We went to a local bar at 7PM to watch the Hangover 2. We had a few drinks, and ate some pathetically bad “Mexican” food. Afterwards we headed back to the hostel for a bit, drank some beer, and then headed out again. I was tired so I headed back by 1AM, and fell asleep. Ko Phi Phi is a serious party island, and a number of people came home around 5AM. I heard one girl say that she didn’t get back until 8:45AM.

On Friday, it was basically the same all over again. I had an easy morning, had some pad thai for lunch, went to the beach, went to the post office, and went back to the same bar again. This time, they were showing The Beach, which is a movie I’ve been meaning to see for a while now because it’s set in Thailand. I had more poor Mexican food for dinner. Afterwards, we headed out to a beach bar, where we watched fire spinners, and drank more beer. The bars were a lot of fun, but we made it home by 2AM.

On Saturday, I got up, ate a greasy breakfast, and took a ferry to Krabi, my next stop.

A view of Koh Phi Phi Leh, the smaller of the Phi Phi islands. I think it’s uninhabited; there are no hotels to stay in on the island, anyway. We passed it in the ferry on the way to Ko Phi Phi Don, the main Phi Phi island.

Ko Phi Phi Don

Beach! The weather wasn’t superb, and I definitely had to escape rain for a while between bouts of intermittent sunshine.

A group of us hanging out outside of the hostel before going out

Fire spinners on the beach; they were spectacular!

 

So I know this one didn’t sound too exciting, but it was a damn good time.

5 responses to “Ko Phi Phi, Thailand (11.24.11 – 11.25.11)

  1. sure, parties every night mexican food every day, sounds dreadfully dull.

  2. Hi! I am supposed to come in April Is everything up and running since the floods?

    • When I was there, it depended entirely on where you were in the country. By the time I left, most things were up and running again without trouble.
      If you’re going in April, then I think that everything will be back to normal.
      Have fun!

  3. Hi, yeah this article is genuinely nice and I have learned lot of
    things from it on the topic of blogging. thanks.

Leave a Reply

