Favorite Memories

We all have memories that we hold close to our hearts. Not surprisingly, a great deal of my favorites have something to do with travel. There’s something magical about sharing an experience with someone that’s a little outside of your normal routine or comfort zone.

I thought I’d share a few of mine with you.

My earliest favorite memory is something very simple, but I think that’s the beauty of it. When I was growing up in England, we would go on holiday to France sometimes. We were staying in Brittany, and I can’t remember how old I was exactly… young… let’s say seven or so, and my dad and I would go to the boulangerie in the morning to pick up baguettes for the day, and pastries for our breakfast. We would walk hand in hand down to the bakery, and I would get to pick my own pain-au-chocolat. It’s simple, but perfect.

Seeing Madness for the first time. I bought the ticket impulsively, after screaming and shouting for a while. Once purchased, I remember saying aloud “Right. Now I figure out how to get there.” When they came out on stage, the venue instantly echoed “Hey you, don’t watch that, watch this! This is the heavy heavy monster sound! The nuttiest sound around!” And I instantly broke into tears. It is one of the few times in my life when I have cried tears of joy.

And of course, the “friend pile” that Jen made sure I got when I came home from my year long trip to Europe ranks in the top memories as well.

 

So, why am I bringing up favorite memories? Because I’m pre-emptively telling you about my next one. In a few hours, I will get to see my fella again, after 128 days of separation. I know that exiting security, and seeing his smiling face is going to be one of those perfect moments.

Happy holidays, babies. I hope you make some favorite memories with your loved ones in the upcoming weeks. ❤

6 responses to “Favorite Memories

  1. Gross. Cute, but gross.
    (Do it again).

  2. I love friend pile. I also loved seeing you here! I love you tons!

  3. I don’t even know the way I stopped up right here, however I thought this post was once good. I do not understand who you’re however certainly you’re going to a famous blogger should you aren’t already.
    Cheers!

  4. Fantastic beat ! I would like to apprentice at the same time as you
    amend your site, how can i subscribe for a blog web site?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I have been a little bit familiar
    of this your broadcast offered vivid transparent idea

Leave a Reply

