Shanghai, China (12.16.11 – 12.19.11)

The end of my travels were far lazier than I’d envisioned they would be. I flew into Hangzhou airport, and was immediately met with all of the sorts of troubles that I’d encountered during the rest of my time in China. I got a bus into Hangzhou city, and then tried to get a bus to my hostel. I had so much trouble, and got so much conflicting information (surprise, surprise), and spent close to an hour waiting for a bus that never came, that eventually I decided that I just didn’t care anymore, and I was going to head into Shanghai. I’d heard that Hangzhou was beautiful, but I just couldn’t be bothered to deal with this sort of thing anymore! So, after long last, I got a bus into Shanghai, and luckily was able to navigate myself without trouble. I got to my hostel, and checked in a night early without any problems, which was a relief.

On Saturday, The only thing on my agenda was to go shopping, which I did, but I didn’t find anything I wanted. My goal was to end up with a cute outfit to wear home so that I didn’t look borderline homeless. After living out of a backpack for four months, that’s how I felt I looked! Shanghai was cold, and my warmest pants were way too big because I lost some weight while I was gone. Without a belt, they literally fell off of me, and by the end of my time abroad, I just felt like my clothes were not the most flattering.

On Sunday I planned to visit the Sex Museum in Tongli, but ran into trouble when I got to the train station. I decided that I did not want to spend my last full day in China stressed about catching the right busses while unable to communicate with anyone, so I decided to skip the museum, despite the fact that I had been very excited to visit. If I go back to China, I’ll be sure to visit, but I decided to give shopping another attempt. I procured an outfit that I was very pleased with! That was the extent of the day!!

On Monday, I packed my things, and passed before I needed to leave by wandering the neighborhood around my hostel. At 2:30PM, I took the metro to the airport, and enthusiastically (doesn’t even begin to describe it) started my journey home.

These pictures are from a park I walked through on my shopping days. Not especially representative of Shanghai, but they’re pretty!

 

So, this marks the end of my four month trip to Asia! It wasn’t always easy, but I’m indescribably glad that I did it. Removing myself from the familiar and the routine always helps me to assess where my life is and where I what direction I want it to take. I missed Michael every day, and while I was traveling, I knew that it would be the last time I did something like this. Next time, he’s doing it with me. It may take a while, but I’m fine with that. For now, I’m ready to spend some time at home and settle down for a bit. A proper job’s in the cards for 2012.

Much love to you all, and thank you for sharing this crazy journey with me. ❤

Leave a Reply

